Atari TT/030

Version Française
WikipédiA



The most used and complete.

What's in the box? What can be done with it? Pieces

I bought it in 1993, with a minimal configuration (2 Mb RAM and a 52 Mb hard disk). I extended and enhanced it step by step, it really is my favorite computer. I can't count the hours I spent typing lines of codes on its keyboard.
On the Download page, you'll find some of the programs I wrote.

What's in the box?
  1. CPU Motorola 68030, 32 bits, 32MHz with cache
  2. FPU (floating point unit) Motorola 68882, 32 MHz
  3. Video modes (compatible ST) and VGA (640x480x16, 320x480x256) plus one monochrom 1280*960
  4. SCSI connector for Hard disks and CD
  5. Stereo DMA sound, 8 bits and 50KHz
  6. 4 serial ports 115200, one LAN
  7. MIDI interface
  8. DMA port
  9. Keyboard, mouse, joystick
  10. FDD 1.44 Mb
  11. VME port (Ram expansion, graphic card, ethernet)
  12. TT Ram slot (fast Ram)
Diagram of my personal installation



Well, from this starting point, it grew up and became a real multimedia computer: video capture, sound capture, CD, ZIP, graphic card, ram expansions, etc... I still use it, most for programming.

What can be done with it?


My new full colored desktop!

Clic here to vew pictures of my desktop with color icones,
background image, 3D buttons.


Install Mint/MultiTOS or Mint/MyAES

Clic here to dowload the files and follow my installation step by step.
Diagram of the software
organization.


Replay, assemble videos

Video playback is certainly possible with M_Player. The picture shows a TOS 3.06 desktop using COLOR_TT which gives the windows a 3D effect, and colors the icons. This TT features the NOVA 32 Kb graphic card, whose current mode is 640x480 High Color. It can be boosted to 800x600 in this mode or to 1024x768 in 256 colors. Here M_Player is set as an accessory and plays back a musical clip. The same program allows you to assemble videos from images and sounds.

Capture A Video

You can also capture videos using the VIDI ST 12 cartridge which digitizes up to 320x480 and 4906 colors. It has a PAL input and a NTSC one. Here I'm taking a shoot of my Apple II in the room. As to the color digitisation, only still frames may be taken because the three RGB layers are taken separately. My MagnumTT 64Mo card allows me to capture 279 color frames. However, it is possible to capture motion pictures in 320x240 16 grayscales, up to 12,5 frames per second. In this case the TT may store up to 1683 frames, which enables an autonomy of 2'15" (12,5 fps) or 3'30" (8 fps) – I use the latter setting more often. There is also a last mode of digitisation in 160x120 16 grayscales which allows to store up to 6732 frames, that is to say an autonomy of 14'01" (8 fps).

Programming in Assembler

Programming, of course, is one of the main purposes of my computer. Here you can see my favorite tool: ASSEMBLE by Brainstorm. The picture shows M_Player's listing (about 700 Kb), assembled in 8.65 seconds. That tool is fast, very reliable, and manages the errors in a clear way. The MC 68030's Assembler itself is a shining example of clarity and power.

Programming in Forth

I have programmed a Forth interpreter/compiler in Assembler. It runs on the TT but also on the ST(e) series. It's a disturbing language, concise and efficient, which uses the stack as a RPN calculator. Here you can see the shortest process able to calculate two numbers' greatest common divisor (GCD).

Doing Genealogy

I have included all possible system calls in the Forth, and you can make complete softwares with events, windows and menus management, GDOS printing – just like this genealogy software: Famille.

High-Quality DTP

I used to work on Calamus a lot for page setting. Once you'd learned the basics, the software's power would reveal itself and you would have a hard time using any other DTP system without "grumbling" about the ergonomy or the functons lack.
Hardware Parts


64Mb Memory Expansion

The MagnumTT features two bars of 32 Mb each. The TT Ram is visible only by the processor, so it's never called upon by the peripherals' DMA accesses, and enables a greater speed for readings and writings.

The CaTTamaran 48 MHz accelerator

This is just mere overclocking: the 32 MHz clock is replaced with the 48 MHz one for the MC68030 CPU, as well as the MC68882 FPU.

Other Disks...

There are three additional disks: the hard disk is parted in eight, seven of those parts having a 16 Mb size and being used by the Supercharger's MS-DOS. The CD reader can also burn discs but I've never managed to have it run in that mode.

The Scanner

A SCSI scanner of average making, with a rather quick digitising. The driver is by Homa Systems.

All This Stuff Needs Food!

Some power cables are needed to have all that stuff run!

Vidi ST12 Cartridge

Video digitizer cartridge, up to 320x480 4906 colors, 12 bits. In color mode, you are limited to still or little moving frames (the three RGB layers are taken separately). In 16 grayscales mode, motion capture is enabled! I boost it up to 12.5 fps in 320x250 mode and up to 9 fps in 160x120 mode, because the shrinking takes time.


15 décembre 2007

Atari TT/030

English Version
WikipédiA



Le plus utilisé et le plus complet

Caractéristiques Que peut on en faire? Morceaux choisis

Acheté en 1993 dans une configuration minimale (2 Mo de Ram et un disque dur de 52 Mo), je l'ai régulièrement complété car c'est un peu mon ordinateur fétiche, celui que j'ai le plus utilisé, celui qui est resté des heures durant allumé pendant que je tapais mes lignes de code.
Sur la page Téléchargement, vous avez accès à ces programmes.

Caractéristiques de base:
  1. CPU Motorola 68030, 32 bits, 32MHz avec cache
  2. FPU (copro arithmétique) Motorola 68882, 32 MHz
  3. Divers modes vidéo (compatibles ST) plus VGA (640x480x16) plus un mode monochrome 1280*960
  4. Connectique SCSI pour disques durs et CD Roms
  5. Son DMA stéréo en 8 bits et 50KHz
  6. 4 ports série 115200, un port LAN (réseau)
  7. connecteurs MIDI
  8. Port DMA
  9. Port clavier, manette, souris
  10. lecteur disquettes 1.44
  11. Port VME (extensions RAM, cartes graphiques, ethernet)
  12. Connecteur TT-Ram (ram rapide car visible seulement du CPU)
Diagramme de mon installation personnelle



Mais, il a grandi depuis, cartes d'aquisition vidéo, son, lecteurs CD, ZIP, extensions de RAM, carte graphique, etc... C'est une machine complète que je continue d'utiliser, de programmer.

Que peut-on en faire?


Mon nouveau bureau tout en couleur!

Cliquer ici pour voir des captures d'écran de mon bureau avec image en fond,
icones couleur et boutons 3D...


Installer Mint/MultiTOS ou Mint/MyAES

Cliquer ici pour télécharger les fichiers
et suivre pas à pas mon installation.
Diagramme de l'organisation
logicielle


Rejouer, assembler des vidéos

Rejouer des vidéos est tout à fait possible avec M_Player. L'image vous montre le bureau sous TOS 3.06 agrémenté de COLOR_TT qui donne un effet 3D aux fenetres et des couleurs aux icones. Ce TT contient la carte graphique NOVA 32k dont le mode actuel est 640x480 en High Color. On peut la pousser à 800x600 dans ce mode ou en 1024x768 en 256 couleurs. M_Player est ici configuré en accessoire et rejoue un clip musical. Le même programme permet d'assembler des vidéos à partir d'images et de sons.

Capturer une vidéo

On peut également faire de la capture vidéo avec la cartouche VIDI ST 12 qui digitalise au maximum en 320x480 en 4096 couleurs. Elle dispose d'une entrée PAL et d'une entrée NTSC. Là je filme l'Apple II dans la pièce. Pour la digitalisation couleur, seules les images fixes sont réalisables car les trois plans RVB sont pris séparément. Ma carte MagnumTT 64Mo me permet de capturer 279 images couleurs. Par contre, en digitalisant en 320x240 en 16 gris, le mouvement devient possible jusqu'à 12,5 images par seconde! Le TT a alors une réserve de 1683 images, ce qui assure une autonomie de 2'15" à 12,5 i/s ou 3'30" à 8 i/s, réglage que j'utilise plus fréquemment. Il existe encore un dernier mode de digitalisation en 160x120 en 16 gris qui permet jusqu'à 6732 images en mémoire, une autonomie jusqu'à 14'01" en 8 i/s.

Programmer en assembleur

La programmation, bien sûr, est l'une des principales utilisations de ma machine. Ici vous voyez mon outil préféré: ASSEMBLE de chez Brainstorm. L'image montre le listing de M_Player (près de 700ko) assemblé en 8,65 secondes. L'outil est rapide, très fiable, la gestion des erreurs claire. L'assembleur du MC 68030 est lui même un bijou de clarté et de puissance.

Programmer en Forth

En assembleur j'ai programmé un interpréteur/compilateur Forth qui tourne sur le TT mais également sur la série des ST(e). Un langage déroutant, concis, efficace qui utilise la pile comme une calculatrice RPN. On voit là la procédure pour calculer le PGCD de deux nombres.

Faire de la généalogie

J'ai inclus tous les appels systèmes possibles dans le Forth et on peut développer des applications complètes avec événements, gestion de fenetres, menus, impression GDOS comme ce programme de généalogie Famille.

Faire de la PAO de qualité

A une époque, j'ai beaucoup utilisé Calamus pour la mise en page de documents. Une fois les rudiments acquis, la puissance du logiciel se révelait et on avait du mal à utiliser un autre système de PAO sans "râler" sur le manque d'ergonomie ou de fonctionnalité.
Morceaux choisis


Extension mémoire 64Mo

La MagnumTT équipée de deux barettes de 32Mo chacune. La TT Ram est une mémoire visible uniquement du processeur, elle n'est donc jamais mobilisée par les accès DMA des périphériques et autorise une plus grande vitesse en lecture ou écriture.

L'accélérateur CaTTamaran 48MHz

C'est simplement le principe de l'overclocking qui est appliqué ici: l'horloge de 32Mhz est remplacée par celle de 48 pour le CPU MC68030 ainsi que pour le coprocesseur arithmétique MC68882.

Autres disques...

Trois disques supplémentaires "sous la table", le disque dur est partitionné en 8 dont sept partitions de 16Mo utilisées avec le Supercharger sous MS-Dos. Le CD est aussi un graveur mais je n'ai jamais réussi à le faire tourner dans ce mode.

Le scanner

Un scanner SCSI de facture correcte, l'acquisition est plutôt rapide. Le driver vient de chez Homa Systems.

Il faut nourrir tout ce monde!

Quelques câbles d'alimentation sont nécessaires pour faire tourner tout ce beau monde!

Cartouche Vidi ST12

Cartouche d'acquisition vidéo jusqu'à 320x480 en 4096 couleurs, 12 bits. En couleur, on est limité à des images fixes ou peu mobiles (les trois plans RVB sont pris séparément). En 16 niveaux de gris, le mouvement est accessible! Je la pousse à 12,5 images par seconde en 320x240 et à 9 images par seconde en 160x120 car la réduction prend du temps.


15 décembre 2007